The Loneliness Crisis Is A Symptom

The Self-Worth Crisis Is The Disease

Good Morning Ya'll!

In today's edition of The Love Letters, I'll elaborate more on the importance of embracing responsibility.

I'll share how running towards responsibility is the solution my generation has been searching for.

WE DON'T HAVE A LONELINESS CRISIS

Whenever we hear about my generation, or the young people as a whole, the phrase "loneliness crisis" is often thrown around.

I'm here to share that we're drawing attention to the wrong problem.

We don't have a loneliness crisis,

we have a worthiness crisis.

Sadly, much of my generation feels that, aside from a few family members, no one would notice if they fell off the face of the earth.

And to be honest....

They're right.

We haven't created a life in which we will be missed by the community.

I'm not here to pat us on the back and tell us all that we're special, because that is not the case.

I'm here to empower us to regain our sense of self-worth.

Well, how do we do that?

By being of service to others.

Like I discussed in previous Love Letters, our lives have shown us where we are being called to serve.

Some are being called to help the environment,

Some are being called to help animals,

Some are being called to help homeless people,

and some are being called to help people experiencing abuse.

All are incrementally alleviating suffering.

The more we guide our life in a direction towards alleviating the suffering of others, the more fulfilled we are.

I'm not saying we need to cure cancer,

I'm saying that we need to dedicate a piece of our energy towards something bigger than ourselves.

We will feel worthy once we are a net positive to humanity.

We do this by serving the collective.

IT'S NOT OUR FAULT

It's not our fault that this doesn't come naturally to us.

We've become so detached from nature and community, we've forgotten the essence of the human experience.

We've been unconsciously programmed to be "takers."

We've been conditioned to look at life through the lens of, "What's in it for me?"

In doing so, our main focus has been ourselves.

I'm not saying this is bad, it's definitely needed to some extent...

But too much focus overcomplicates the human experience, causing mental and emotional distress.

Especially anxiety and depression.

I'M SPEAKING FROM EXPERIENCE

I've learned this from experience.

When I was in the situation I described in last week's newsletter, living on a tiny island in Indonesia,

I wasn't being of service to anyone, besides myself.

In doing so, that is when I was most anxious, depressed, and susceptible to illness.

In contrast, today I'm taking on more responsibility than ever.

Every single morning, I ask myself, "Who do I need to be today for the betterment of humanity?"

Putting myself in situations where I can be a solution to the world's biggest problems.

Being of service to others is the most attractive attribute one can have, therefore people will want to be around us.

This solves the loneliness crisis.

There are infinite ways that we can feel worthy through service.

No matter how big or small, we can all find something that can fit in our schedule.

I'm not saying my entire life is dedicated towards service of others…

We're here to enjoy all aspects of the human experience, not just the feelings we get when we help others.

I still do what my “self’ wants.

I'll still take days when I indulge in doing things that only benefit myself.

I love playing video games, watching sports, and eating some great pizza...

But it's a balance.

A balance I'm still trying to figure out.

All I know is that, the more I lean towards service over self, the happier and fulfilled I feel.

CONCLUSION

Society has made us feel unworthy, but we're in full control of rewriting that story.

Taking on more responsibility in our lives to serve others is the single biggest enhancer of our human experience.

The more we serve, the more reasons we have to get out of bed in the morning.

We hit the reset button on life when we realize the entire video game is rigged for those who choose to help the other players.

The mind will be empty and the heart will be full.

That's it for today.

Running Towards Responsibility will be a topic that I further elaborate on in future editions of The Love Letters.

Thank you for all of the love and support on the most recent Letters.

I'm so excited for how fast these articles are spreading.

I hope you all know...

That you are loved, and you are enough.

See you tomorrow,

I love you all.

-Cameron Hogan